Articles

 As a college student, I am very interested in staying healthy and active in college. One resource I have used throughout my college experience is the Paleo Diet. This diet is all about eating healthy non-processed foods. Healthy foods fill you up and keep you full throughout the whole day! Even though paleo is technically a “diet” there is no research proving that you will lose weight. My take on “going paleo” is that I wanted to maintain a healthy lifestyle by cutting carbohydrates, refined sugar, dairy, legumes and grains. Basically, you are avoiding any food that would “harm us by causing systemic inflammation, wrecking our guts, or derailing our natural metabolic processes (NomNomPaleo).” In order to do this, your plate should look like this:

tumblr_m9k29aNPlT1qdei8m

There are many of websites that you can use for support and help translating what you should and should not eat while on the Paleo Diet.

By following the Paleo Diet, I have learned how to live my life without the staples known to many people as “real American food.” By cutting out refined sugar and dairy, life has been hard but it’s really easy to get used to especially since I have some great resources for recipes.

For more information and some awesome recipes:

Elena’s Pantry

US News Paleo Diet

PaleOMG

NomNomPaleo

Wikipedia – I don’t usually use Wikipedia, but they have a good description of the Paleo Diet.

 

My Favorite Recipes

Banana Bread

Chocolate Chip Protein Muffins

Mushroom Gravy Rump Roast

Leave a Reply

