Apartment Living

After living in my apartment for just over three months now, I have finally settled into my life and routine. There are many things I have learned about myself when it comes to apartment living rather than living in the residence halls or with my parents.

The first thing I learned is that I am not as messy as everyone thinks I am. When I lived with my parents or even in my residence hall, I HATED doing dishes. Like, would leave dirty dishes for months then just buy new ones so I wouldn’t have to wash the dirty. Now that I am living in my own apartment, a place of residence I pay for with my own money, I am a much cleaner person. Whether it is the fact that it is my OWN place or the fact that I do not want to ruin it with having it be dirty, either way, I am a cleaner person now that I live in an apartment.

The second thing I learned is that groceries are EXPENSIVE! Even from Walmart, I find myself spending $150 – $200 every two weeks for food just for me! Granted, now that I live in an apartment I also eat a TON more than I used to but it is all good food for me rather than dining hall food. But anyways, food will break your bank especially if you want to eat healthily,

The third thing I learned while living in my apartment is that you may think you will click with someone but you may not be the best roommates ever. My roommate and I are cool but she is very quiet and always takes over the living room so I feel like I have to hide in my bedroom and I’m not allowed to have friends over to hang out in our common areas. Also we spend about $100 for cable every month because SHE likes to watch TV. I am very happy with my Hulu and Netflix but have to pay half of the cable bill every month just because we have it. I would be completely happy with only having Internet especially since my TV isn’t even connected to the Cable.

Those are the things I have learned thusfar in my apartment living at Washington State University. I am absolutely positive I will learn much more as the year goes on, so wait for a follow up post in the spring!

Leave a Reply

